Snake Ropes

Paperback
SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2012 COSTA FIRST NOVEL AWARD No-one here goes to the main land, and no-one wants to. Our boats aren't strong enough, we dun know the way, them can't understand us, we're fine as we are. We have so many reasons; them stretch as wide as the distance to cross to take us there. The day the tall men come from the mainland to trade, Mary's little brother goes missing. She needs to find him. She needs to know a secret that no-one else can tell her. Jess Richards' stunning debut will show you crows who become statues and sisters who get tangled in each other's hair, keys that talk and ghosts who demand to be buried. In the tradition of Angela Carter and Margaret Atwood, she combines a page-turning narrative and a startlingly original voice with the creation and subversion of myths.