Ratification by the States Delaware Vol 111

The four states in this volume, Delaware, Georgia, New Jersey, and Connecticut, varied widely in social background, in political structure, and in the issues that concerned their citizens, yet all overwhelming supported ratification of the Constitution. The sources for the history of ratification by the four states, save Connecticut, are sparse, yet the documents provided in this volume provide a foundation for a fuller understanding of the context within which the citizens ratified the Constitution.This documentary series is a research tool of remarkable power, an unrivaled reference work for historical and legal scholars, librarians, and students of the Constitution. The volumes are encyclopedic, consisting of manuscript and printed documents-contemporary newspapers, broadsides, and pamphlets-compiled from hundreds of sources, copiously annotated, thoroughly indexed, and often accompanied by microfiche supplements.Pulitzer Prize-winning historian Michael Kammen has noted that The Documentary History of the Ratification of the Constitution series will be of enduring value centuries hence and described it as one of the most interesting documentary publications we have ever had. The American Bar Association Journal has stated, Each new volume now fills another vital part of the mosaic of national history.