Can the Prizes Still Glitter?: The Future of British Universitites in a Changing World

Sold by Gardners

This product may not be approved for your region.
  • Free Shipping

    On orders of AED 100 or more. Standard delivery within 8-10 days.
  • Free Reserve & Collect

    Reserve & Collect from Magrudy's or partner stores accross the UAE.
  • Cash On Delivery

    Pay when your order arrives.
  • Free returns

    See more about our return policy.
Can the Prizes still Glitter? is edited by Hugo de Burgh (Editor of China in Britain, Professor of Journalism and Director of the China Media Centre at the University of Westminster), Anna Fazackerley, Director of Education Think Tank Agora, and Jeremy Black (Professor of History at Exeter University). Can the Prizes Still Glitter? is the inaugural publication of Agora, a new independent think tank focusing on the future of our universities. Thirty-four high profile contributors including eight vice chancellors (and, of course, our very own Terence Kealey), politicians, business people and academics from a variety of disciplinary backgrounds and a range of institutions have written personal essays about where universities are now and where they ought to be. Between them they tackle the whole spectrum of higher education. They confront many of the big and often uncomfortable issues facing Britain, exhibit some of the solutions of which individual institutions are proud, and outline the kind of tough decisions that politicians and university leaders need to take if British institutions are to match rapid progress elsewhere in the world. The contributors include: Sir Harry Kroto, Boris Johnson, Bill Rammell, Eric Thomas, Frank Furedi, Terence Kealey, Alec Reed, Bernard Lamb, Tim Birkhead, John Stein, David Watson, Charles Pasternak, Bob Boucher, Gordon Graham, Chris Patten, Susan Bassnett, James Tooley, James Stanfield, Peter Atkins, Henry Etzkowitz, David Palfreyman, Steve Smith, Michael Harloe, Alan Gilbert, Geoffrey Copland, Frank Morgan, Michael Shattock, Gary Day, Jeremy Black, Sally Feldman, Alison Wolf, David Lathbury, and Kenneth Minogue.