Betty Swanwick: Artist and Visionary

Hardback
This monograph intends to rectify the neglect of a visionary twentieth century British artist in the tradition of William Blake and Samuel Palmer. A friend and pupil of Edward Bawden, both student and teacher at Goldsmiths and a successful book illustrator, Swanwick's unique, spiritual and sometimes eccentric work and life are vividly and sensitively examined by Paddy Rossmore, a close friend and collector of the artist. A chronology and catalogue record documentary detail, while other voices, including Swanwick's own, help to bring her alive.