Filter
(found 114 products)
Book cover image
A large part of photographer/artist/printmaker Steve Miller's work has been devoted to walking the line to the intersection of art and science. In Radiographic we get to see the first collision of these incredible experiments in book form. Working with scientific equipment including electron microscopes, X-rays, MRI machines, and even ...
Radiographic: X-Ray Photo Inventions
A large part of photographer/artist/printmaker Steve Miller's work has been devoted to walking the line to the intersection of art and science. In Radiographic we get to see the first collision of these incredible experiments in book form. Working with scientific equipment including electron microscopes, X-rays, MRI machines, and even Rorschach blots, Miller examines natural subjects (and sometimes man-made ones) through an x-ray technology that results in the creation of surprisingly beautiful representational and abstract imagery. Admired equally by scientists with whom he has worked at places like New York's Brookhaven National Laboratory; art curators who have exhibited and/or written about his work, like The National Academy of Sciences in Washington, DC and essayist Peter Schjeldahl; as well as consumers who eagerly snatch up his wall-sized prints at places like Artspace, Miller's totally breakthrough and exciting explorations have created the unique profile of an artist who thinks conceptually while engaging universally, making exquisite artworks based on such diverse elements as blood cells, x-rays of plants and animals from the Amazon rainforest, the folding of proteins, and the movement of ions. Impossible to describe without sounding ridiculously arcane, but impossible to resist once the artworks are viewed, this book offers an opportunity to see the work of a creative talent described by The New Yorker magazine as qualifying as a Prophet . Here is a man who has expanded the boundaries of what we know as 'art'.
https://magrudy-assets.storage.googleapis.com/9781943876457.jpg
47.250000 USD
Hardback
Book cover image
1.      Anne McCaffrey raves about the fantasy of Sharon Lee and Steve Miller, “Every now and then you come across an author, or in this case, a pair, who write exactly what you want to read, the characters and personalities that make you enjoy meeting ...
Duainfey
1.       Anne McCaffrey raves about the fantasy of Sharon Lee and Steve Miller, “Every now and then you come across an author, or in this case, a pair, who write exactly what you want to read, the characters and personalities that make you enjoy meeting them. . . . I rarely rave on and on about stories, but I am devoted to Lee and Miller novels and stories. Start at the beginning, dear reader, and you will be rewarded with a sanctuary you can escape to, as I do when this world we’re stuck with is impossible to endure.” 2.       Mary Balog, author of Slightly Dangerous, heartily agrees: “I was mesmerized, awed, and totally entertained. I am hooked by the Liaden world. Bravo!” 3.       Sharon Lee and Steve Miller’s The Sword of Orion (Phobos Books) was a Locus best seller. 4.       Lee and Miller have published ten novels (from Ace and Meisha Merlin) in their popular Liaden series.  5.       Lee and Miller have a huge internet presence and a rabid fan base, as determined for their best-selling series for the Liaden series e-books on Baen.com.. 6.       Will appeal to readers of Mercedes Lackey and Lois McMaster Bujold. 7.       Advertising in Locus, Romantic Times, and more. 8.       Includes teaser chapter for the sequel, Longeye.Rebecca Beauvelley is a ruined woman. In a moment of girlish folly, she allowed a high-flying young man to take her up in his phaeton, not realizing that he was drunk. When he dropped the ribbons, she recovered them, but not in time to avoid disaster. The young man was killed in the accident. Rebecca survived, with a withered arm to remind her of the wages of folly, and a reputation in tatters. Against all expectation, her father has found someone, an elderly rogue, who will marry her. Rebecca's life seems set, and she resigned to it, when Altimere, a Fey, appears and uses his magic to show her two futures: In the first, she is abused and neglected as the dutiful wife; in the second, she is dressed and bejeweled like a princess. Rebecca chooses the second future and elopes with Altimere.  Unfortunately, Altimere has an agenda of his own. The first of a two-book series.  Watch for the sequel, Longeye, coming April 2009.
8.390000 USD

Duainfey

by Steve Miller, Sharon Lee
Page 4 of 4