Filter
(found 13 products)
Book cover image
`An inspiring, uplifting novel about an extraordinary young woman who refuses to let anything stand in the way of her love and her dream'JULIE COHEN 'A wonderful book about the beautiful Alice Martineau that both inspired meand made me cry uncontrollably when I finished it' SUNDAY TIMES Tom fell in ...
A Song for Tomorrow
`An inspiring, uplifting novel about an extraordinary young woman who refuses to let anything stand in the way of her love and her dream'JULIE COHEN 'A wonderful book about the beautiful Alice Martineau that both inspired meand made me cry uncontrollably when I finished it' SUNDAY TIMES Tom fell in love with Alice the moment he saw her. He realises that being with her will not be easy, but she is a force of nature, a burst of sunlight in his otherwise ordinary world. Some people might look at Alice and think she has everything, but Alice knows she is not like other women. Her life is complicated, unpredictable, difficult. Alice does not like pity. All she wants to do - all she's ever wanted to do - is sing. Alice has been told not to follow her dreams. So has Tom. But when fate has already dealt a tough hand, it's time to stop listening to everyone else and follow their hearts . . . `A heart-wrenching read ... A moving story of an extraordinary young woman and the triumph of her spirit against huge odds' SUNDAY EXPRESS 'It's impossible to get to the end of this powerful and poignant story without a lump in the throat' SUNDAY MIRROR `An extraordinary story that goes straight to the heart. Alice Peterson celebrates her namesake with great understanding and skill, acknowledging the frailties and strengths, the ambitions and the talent of an amazing young woman' JANET ELLIS, author of THE BUTCHER'S HOOK 'What a beautiful, passionate story. I couldn't physically put the book down... I had to keep on reading' ALICE BEER `Touching and vivid... A book that will live on in the hearts of many' CASILDA GRIGG `Brought Alice's soul to life. This book had me in tears, my favourite book of the year' LIZZY WARD THOMAS `An emotional, uplifting page-turner, inspired by the true story of the singer, Alice Martineau, that celebrates making every moment in life count, and never giving up' JO CHARRINGTON, CAPITOL RECORDS 'If you read nothing else this year, please read this book! You won't regret it' Reading between the pages... (blog)
https://magrudy-assets.storage.googleapis.com/9781471153013.jpg
14.86 USD

A Song for Tomorrow

by Alice Peterson
Paperback / softback
Book cover image
`If You Were Here is a moving and emotional story about facing a life-altering dilemma head-on and summoning the courage to cope with it' JILL MANSELL 'A beautiful story about living life to the fullest and having the courage to overcome adversity' PAIGE TOON When her daughter Beth dies suddenly, ...
If You Were Here: The most inspiring read for summer 2019 - full of life, love and hope!
`If You Were Here is a moving and emotional story about facing a life-altering dilemma head-on and summoning the courage to cope with it' JILL MANSELL 'A beautiful story about living life to the fullest and having the courage to overcome adversity' PAIGE TOON When her daughter Beth dies suddenly, Peggy Andrews is left to pick up the pieces and take care of her granddaughter Flo. But sorting through Beth's things reveals a secret never told: Beth was sick, with the same genetic condition that claimed her father's life, and now Peggy must decide whether to keep the secret or risk destroying her granddaughter's world. Five years later, Flo is engaged and moving to New York with her fiance. Peggy never told her what she discovered, but with Flo looking towards her future, Peggy realises it's time to come clean and reveal that her granddaughter's life might also be at risk. As Flo struggles to decide her own path, she is faced with the same life-altering questions her mother asked herself years before: if a test could decide your future, would you take it? An emotional, inspiring and uplifting novel, IF YOU WERE HERE will break your heart and put it back together again. The brand new novel from the acclaimed author of A Song for Tomorrow, perfect for fans of Hannah Beckerman, Dani Atkins and Jill Mansell EVERYONE is talking about If You Were Here: 'A moving, beautifully written emotional roller coaster of a book that is utterly absorbing' Heat 'If You Were Here is a powerful, moving and well researched multi-generational tale filled with characters you really care about and who will stay with you long after you read the final page. A must read!' MIKE GAYLE, bestselling author of The Man I Think I Know 'The decision to live in blissful ignorance or face reality head-on is at the emotional core of this beautifully written tale' WOMAN `A compelling story about family love at its most complicated. Alice has created characters with real warmth and heart, who take on a life of their own and will go on existing in readers' heads long after the last page has been turned' DAISY BUCHANAN `A courageous story, beautifully told, full of hope and heart. I was invested from the very first page' HEIDI SWAIN 'An emotional, thought-provoking romance told with compassion and hope' My Weekly 'A gorgeous book. Life-affirming, clever and packed full of emotion' ANSTEY HARRIS, bestselling author of The Truths and Triumphs of Grace Atherton `A thought-provoking, beautiful book' Fabulous 'Alice demonstrates yet again a remarkable ability to open up her readers' hearts and draw us into her story as if it were our own. I loved it' KATE FURNIVALL `Full of heart-warming characters, it'll make you think about how much you want to know about your future' Prima 'A beautiful story about making difficult choices, but ultimately - about choosing to live' RACHEL CULLEN, author of Running for my Life 'An unforgettable rollercoaster of a book' AMANDA BROOKE 'Stunning and captivating' KATIE MARSH, bestselling author of This Beautiful Life 'A beautifully structured, big-hearted novel which ultimately explores how true love - be that romantic, familial and everything in between - conquers all. I looked forward to going to bed every night to read it. Utterly life-affirming and just gorgeous' KATY REGAN
https://magrudy-assets.storage.googleapis.com/9781471153525.jpg
14.86 USD

If You Were Here: The most inspiring read for summer 2019 - full of life, love and hope!

by Alice Peterson
Paperback / softback
Book cover image
Love, lust, boys and coursework - the main worries of a teenage girl? Not for eighteen-year-old Alice Peterson, who, at the height of her youth and an extremely promising tennis career, was diagnosed with rheumatoid arthritis. In the midst of shock and denial, and the enduring question, 'Isn't it old ...
Another Alice: An Inspiring True Story of a Young Woman's Battle to Overcome Rheumatoid Arthritis
Love, lust, boys and coursework - the main worries of a teenage girl? Not for eighteen-year-old Alice Peterson, who, at the height of her youth and an extremely promising tennis career, was diagnosed with rheumatoid arthritis. In the midst of shock and denial, and the enduring question, 'Isn't it old people who get arthritis?', Alice had to learn to live with what quickly turned from the odd ache and pain to a very aggressive form of the illness, and rediscover a new path in life. Another Alice is at times utterly heart-breaking, and at others laugh-out-loud. Here is her story of how, armed with humour and courage, she left behind a world she loved to overcome the pain of a degenerative illness. Told with wit, charm and frankness, Another Alice is also a story of friendship, family, growing up and the desire to be 'normal'. But, above all, it celebrates the power of the human spirit.
https://magrudy-assets.storage.googleapis.com/9781848310414.jpg
5.58 USD
Paperback / softback
Book cover image
Everything Polly does, she does for her son Louis. Leaving her abusive partner, struggling to overcome alcoholism: she will do whatever it takes to keep Louis safe and happy. Then Polly meets Ben. After years of heartache, could Ben give Polly the happiness she thought she'd never find again? Ben ...
One Step Closer to You: A heartbreaking pageturner that you won't stop thinking about
Everything Polly does, she does for her son Louis. Leaving her abusive partner, struggling to overcome alcoholism: she will do whatever it takes to keep Louis safe and happy. Then Polly meets Ben. After years of heartache, could Ben give Polly the happiness she thought she'd never find again? Ben himself is struggling with acting as guardian to his orphaned niece Emily, and he and Polly bond over trying to be good parents. Just as Polly thinks her life may be turning around, the unthinkable happens. When her new life balances on a knife edge, will she be able to stay strong for Louis one more time? A tearjerking pageturner that will stay with you for ever, One Step Closer to You is perfect for fan of Jill Childs, Jodi Picoult and Lisa Wingate. What readers are saying: 'An amazing story about addiction, love, family and the strength and courage of one woman, with twists and turns. I can honestly not recommend this book enough so please if you're looking, get this one it won't disappoint. I finished a couple of days ago and still am thinking about Polly, it gets you that way, truly amazing and inspiring' Emma 'Gripping, emotional, uplifting and inspirational' Jill 'Full of hope, sensitivity, bags of emotion (hankys at the ready...) and touching humility ... a fair degree of mystery and tension too' Sarah-Jane 'Would recommend to anyone who loved Jojo Moyes' S. O'Hare 'As the story progressed I couldn't put the book down; I felt as though I really needed to get answers and find out how the novel ended. And I was not at all disappointed' Ismay2012
https://magrudy-assets.storage.googleapis.com/9781782061830.jpg
14.86 USD
Paperback / softback
Page 1 of 1